Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review | Tract Optics Ultra HD Powerful Hunting Scope

Tract Optics has been making a big push to impress in the world of optics, and their latest Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 UHD rifle scope does just that by bringing a high quality rifle scope specifically designed with hunters in mind. It offers a perfect size and magnification range for the hunter, and was built with purpose to handle the rigors of mountain hunts, all while offering exceptionally good optical performance.

Featuring Tract’s UHD glass, the Tract Optics rifle scope gives you incredible clarity, color rendition, and low light performance so you have the equipment you need when that critical moment arrives. When you work all year long to prepare yourself for shot opportunities, the last thing you want to deal with is equipment failure in the field that inhibits your chances of harvesting that buck or bull of a lifetime.

Love optics? We certainly do here at Backwoods Pursuit, so make sure to check out our MONSTER 26 BINOCULAR REVIEW, as well as our massive 19 SPOTTING SCOPE REVIEW. We lined up the optics and tested them side by side for both of these reviews!

If this isn’t the perfect model for you, Tract Optics offers a bunch of other models in their rifle scope lineup. Their lineup features .22 caliber scopes, the Hunt Series 30mm scopes, their Toric Long Range Scopes, and the Extreme Long Range scopes for those who need the extra performance.

Which Models We Tested – Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

The models we tested were the Tract Toric MOA/MOA First Focal Plane 2.5-15×44 and the Tract Toric Illuminated Second Focal Plane 2.5-15×44 scope. Both of these scopes offer similar features, but also have some distinct differences you need to be aware of before you order. All of the Tract Optics 30mm Hunt Series Rifle Scopes offer the following:

  • SCHOTT high-transmission (HT) glass
  • Ultra High Definition (UHD) optical system
  • Zero stop turrets
  • 4 inches of eye relief
  • 30mm main body tube
  • Waterproof and fogproof with argon gas
  • Side focus parallax adjustment
  • Quick focus eyepiece
  • 3 inch sun shade included
  • Tract Trust Assurance Lifetime Warranty

Tract Optics Hunt Series Scope Differences

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

Each of the Tract Toric Hunt Series rifle scopes have a unique feature that you need to be aware of that could easily be overlooked at a quick glance. Within the Tract Optics Hunt Series of rifle scopes, you have the option of MOA or MIL within the First Focal Plane (FFP) options, but only one reticle choice (Tract Hunting Reticle), and then you have a second focal plane option that is illuminated, has capped turrets, and two different reticle options. Here’s a quick rundown of the Tract Hunt Series Scope options and their features:

Feature FFP Model SFP Model
Illuminated Reticle No Yes
MOA or MRAD Options Yes MOA Only
Multiple Reticle Options No - Hunting Reticle Yes - T-Plex or BDC
Elevation Turret Exposed - Locking Capped
Windage Turret Capped Capped
Focal Plane First Second
WordPress Data Table Plugin

As you can see, there are some very unique differences between the various models, and I would expect more options to become available down the road, but you should be able to find something that will fit your needs unless you are looking for a first focal plane scope with an illuminated reticle and want some reticle options. There is certainly room to grown in the Tract Hunt Series of scopes, but what is offered is a very solid feature set.

Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Scope Specs

We both loved the color that the Tract Toric comes in, and the build quality has proven to be exceptional. The nice, gray finish took a beating but still looks great. Over the last 3 years we’ve had the privilege of using several different Tract Optics rifle scopes, spotting scopes, and binoculars and all have proven to be top-notch quality. Eventually, it would be nice to have other color options offered from Tract Optics, but who knows, maybe that’s in the plans down the road.

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

Here are the specs of the Tract Toric Hunt Series scopes that we tested:

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Specs
Weight FFP - 27.2oz / SFP - 28.3oz
Main Tube 30mm
Objective 44mm
Magnification 2.5-15x
Elevation Adjustment Range 100 MOA / 30 MRAD
FOV (ft @ 100yds) 41.7 / 7.1
Reticle Glass Etched
Length 14 inches
WordPress Data Table Plugin

Probably my biggest complaint as far as the specs go is the weight of this scope. Coming in at 27.2-28.8 ounces depending on which model you select, it’s on the heavy side for its class. Contrast this with the Leupold VX3 HD 4.5-14×40 we recently tested and the Tract Toric leaves you wishing it was a bit lighter. Now, the Leupold VX3 doesn’t compare in its optical quality (even thought it is still very good), so there is a give and take.

Why is it heavier? Well, to produce the incredible image you get with the Tract Optics Toric UHD Rifle Scope (more on that below), a higher quality glass is used which is more dense. More lenses are also used to correct for things like chromatic aberration and improve overall image clarity.

The excellent build quality and high quality glass used to produce the incredible optical quality that the Toric gives you means some weight is sacrificed. Weight is certainly something you want to consider depending on the type of rifle build you are putting together, but build quality and optical quality are extremely important.

Our Testing: Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

Over the course of a year, two of our team members had the opportunity to test a couple of the Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 rifle scopes in the field on hunting trips, as well as on many range days getting things dialed in and working up new loads for some rifles.

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

Both of these rifles also spent many days in the field chasing mule deer and elk from October through December, and were put through temperatures reaching -12 degrees Fahrenheit. These scopes rode on our backpack, motorcycles, 4 wheeler, in pickups down washboard dirt roads, and spent many miles slung on our shoulders. Through it all, they took the abuse flawlessly (other than a broken throw lever).

What’s In the Box: Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

The Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 rifle scope comes with a nice sun shade that can be installed on the scope, as well as plastic lens covers and the Allen wrenches you’ll need to get the zero-stop set on the turrets. The throw lever, bubble level, and Iota rings can be purchased individually or as an accessory package.

Eye Relief: Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

The Tract Toric2.5-15×44 rifle scope gives you a nice 3.9-4 inches of eye relief, keeping your face far enough away from the scope to avoid thumping yourself. I found that the Tract Toric 4-20×50 mm scope didn’t lose eye relief as I zoomed in to the maximum 15x which makes it much nicer than having to readjust your cheek position if you need to utilize the maximum zoom. This was a welcomed surprise as a number of scopes we’ve tested have this drawback.

Turrets & Parallax: Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

FIRST FOCAL PLANE MODEL

The First Focal Plane models in the Hunt Series from Tract Optics give you an exposed and locking elevation turret, while leaving the windage turret capped. Some folks might not like that the windage turret is capped, but I prefer that the windage turret either be capped or locking because that is the turret I seem to bump the most when in the field ducking through timber patches or navigating steep terrain. Again, if you wish to have the windage turret exposed, just remove the cap and hunt with the cap off.

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review
First Focal Plane with Windage Cap On
Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review
First Focal Plane with Windage Cap Off

Between both of us field testing it as well as testing it out at the range for this Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 review, we found the turrets to be nice and crisp, well-defined, and the locking elevation turret of the First Focal plane model to be user friendly. That being said, the lock turret did have a bit of play when unlocked. The clicks were still nice and defined, and once it’s back in the locked position, there is no play. Just something we noted during our use.

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

It features a very nice zero stop and is very comfortable to use. The numbers are large and easy to read, and you get 20 MOAs per rotation along with a locking turret. I like how the larger turret makes the scope easier to operate, especially with gloves on. It’s a personal preference, and it’s understandable if you don’t like the extra bulk, but it sure makes reading your witness marks easier in the heat of the moment.

SECOND FOCAL PLANE MODEL

Next we’ll take a look at the second focal plane model in the Hunt Series from Tract Optics. As you can see below, both the elevation and windage turrets are capped. However, when you remove the cap, you have a nicely marked windage and elevation adjustment. If you didn’t want the caps on there, you could easily hit the field with both the elevation and windage turrets exposed.

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review
Second Focal Plane Model

Now on the second focal plane model, (as well as the windage turret on the first focal plane model), the turrets are extremely tactile and crisp- much more so than the locking elevation turret of the First Focal Plane model. With that being said, my personal preference is to have an exposed locking elevation turret, so the First Focal Plane model fits the bill perfectly for me. Our other team member who tested the second focal plane model prefers both the elevation and windage turrets to be capped, so that model fits his needs more.

This model features an illuminated reticle, which is very nice for those low light shooting situations. The well defined clicks, with an “off” position between each of the illumination settings, functions well. One possible improvement would be to have the illuminated reticle automatically shut off after a designated period of time to ensure the battery doesn’t run out. This happened on a hunt the next time I used the scope and I realized the battery had run out. We’d advise having an extra battery or two in the event that you accidentally leave it on.

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

All of the Tract Optics Toric 2.5-15X44 rifle scopes give you an incredible 100 minutes of elevation adjustment, plenty for those longer shots if you are into that. All of the Hunt Series models in the Tract Optics rifle scope lineup give you a side parallax adjustment that ranges from an impressive 10 yards to infinity, and the knob is located on the left side of the scope.

The parallax adjustment functions very well and the numbers are easy to read. The side parallax knob (and the zoom knob) weren’t overly stiff, which I really like. I thought that all the knobs offer just the right amount of resistance.

Image quality: Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

A good Tract Optics review wouldn’t be complete without testing the optical performance throughout the zoom range of the scope. While testing in the field and at the range for this Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 review, I found that the scope provided a super crisp image that, quite frankly, far exceeded its price point. It had excellent edge-to-edge clarity, fantastic color contrast, and superb low light performance.

I did notice that there was a little more of that tunnel feel than some of the other scopes we’ve tested. In other words, you see some black around the image (not in the image, but outside the field of view). Some scopes have more of this than others, and the Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 rifle scope wasn’t bad, but I did notice it a bit. With that being said, the image quality is still definitely top-notch!

Tracking Test: Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

Another part of this Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 review was to hit the range and see how the scope tracked. To test this I zeroed my rifle at 100 yards and put a three shot group right around the bullseye. Then I moved the elevation turret all the way up to the top of the adjustment range, then back to zero.

After that, I moved the windage turret to the end of its adjustment range to the right, then all the way to the end of the adjustment range to the left. brought it back to zero, and shot another round to make sure it would return to zero after a full range of adjustments in all directions. The Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 was flawless.

Next, I moved the turrets three MOAs up and three MOAs to the right and took a shot, then set the scope back to zero, then moved the turrets three MOAs down and three MOAs to the right, and took another shot. I did this around the four corners of the target to see if there was any variance in the reticle travel vs. what the turrets said. I found the Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 to be dead on in this test as I couldn’t find any variance in actual travel.

Magnification & Functionality: Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

With the Tract Toric 2.5-15×44 rifle scope you get an ideal zoom range for just about all of your realistic hunting situations. The hunter who needs a super low zoom gets what they need in a 2.5x minimum, while the long range shooter can ramp it up to 15x if they need to reach out there a ways. While this scope may not be what an extreme long range shooter will need, it will meet the needs of most hunters, in most situations.

It’s easy to be enamored by a monster zoom similar to the Maven RS3.2 5-30×50 (also a phenomenal scope), but in all practical reality, that’s a lot more scope than most of us REALLY need in a hunting rifle.

How The Tract Optics Toric 2.5-15×44 Rifle Scope Ranked

Image Clarity

Turrets/Knobs

Weight

Zero Stop

Eye Relief

Overall Value

Conclusion: Tract Optics Toric 2.5-15×44 Review

Tract Toric 2.5-15x44 Rifle Scope Review - Tract Optics Review

After putting these scopes through the paces for this Tract Optics Toric 2.5-15×44 review, we both really came to love these Toric Optics rifle scopes. They are built purposefully with the hunter in mind and are very durable, offering amazing optical quality. They boast a number of configuration options for whatever your application, give you an incredible 100 MOA / 30 MRAD of elevation adjustment, Illuminated reticle options, and both first and second focal plane options. This is a fantastic scope at a great price and most certainly one to consider for your next rifle!


Subscribe to Backwoods Pursuit to get Your FREE Backcountry Gear Worksheet!!!

Dial in your gear list, calculate your pack weight, and lighten up your pack with this handy tool!

Leave a Comment